Wet weekend

We had planned for a weekend of outdoor fun with lots of progress being made all over the place but the weather had other plans. Some wet days are ok, you can put on your rain coat and water proof trousers and be really smug about ” no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing ” etc. Today was not one of those days. The wild was very wild, the rain was very wet and the whippets had their inside-day faces on.

IMG_0964.JPG So I have started a little craft project. Later this summer we are going to put a new shed on the plot and deck it out as a summer house , The Cabin. You will hear much more about this plan over the next few weeks, it has been occupying my mind almost to the exclusion of being able to remember how to wash myself and change my clothes ( the curse of an obsessive nature). Anyway, I had this idea for a peg loom rug made from our sheeps wool. As. You may remember, my doozer father-in-law made me a peg loom a couple of years ago..and since then, my doozer Dad has used it to make a really lovely rug. So with this inspiration I have started a round rug.

IMG_1159.JPG

IMG_1158.JPG My mum and dad learnt how to make this type of round rug from a lady they met at my mum’s spinning group. Basically you weave up to the end of the row and the then weave back again missing out the top peg, the next time you miss out the top two pegs, the third time you miss the top three pegs and so on. Thus creating a wedge shape. I am really pleased with it. I will upload some pictures of the finished article. It is taking a long time to make but it’s all very zen. I that’ve spent the whole day weaving and listening to the radio. 🙂

Leave a Reply

