Primary School Egg Incubation Project Autumn 2014

So I got a tweet just before the summer holidays from a friend who I used to work with asking if I knew of anyone who might be able to help her primary school run an egg incubation project. I didn’t play it very cool and was a bit like that child in the back of the class with their hand in the air saying “me….choose me”.

I can help you with that Jo, and would be happy to

I tweeted back, so a few months later I am in the middle of another incubation project with an inner city primary school. I can’t really tell you how much of a kick these projects give me. I know its a cliché, but seeing the kids effervescent with  excitement makes me remember how awesome nature is, and why I love to be part of it everyday.  I went into the school a couple of weeks ago and talked about eggs, and chickens and brooders and hatching to a group of 40 year 5s. The cutest question of the afternoon was “what will we feed the eggs?”. The kids were great, and Jo had done some very cool prep with them on life cycles.

Incubation project 2 Incubation project

I went back to the school on Wednesday and set the class up with 7 eggs in my little incubator. When I came home I put another 11 in my big incubator as a back up. The really exciting news is that I did a sneaky early candle today and one is definitely developing. Roll on Wednesday I wanna know how they are all doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

