Grafting

So if you read my last post you will know that the current Sencemeadow obsession is propogating fruit trees via a method called grafting. I am really keen to get on and try some more grafting partly because I have a bee in my bonnet about it, but also because there is a very short season to do it in, (Feb) so I have ordered some rootstock to enable me to have a go.

I have spread my risk by ordering 1/2 from eBay but also 1/2 from this site http://www.gb-online.co.uk, I have no recommendation so will let you know what they are like in a few months time when I see if the grafts have taken.

I have ordered 10 MM106 apple rootstock, and 2 M27 apple rootstocks. I have also ordered 4 Quince C pear rootstock and 4 St Julienne plumb rootstock. These 20 roots have come in at about £50, which sounds like a lot but when you divide that by the number of tree it will (hopefully) create it is a very cheap way of propagating trees at £2.50 a tree. I know not all of them will work but the average price for a fruit tree is £15 and can be a lot more than that. We have a lot of space for more fruit trees in our Forest garden and are delighted to be having a go at adding to the collection.

We have found a couple of local parks that are willing to let us take a few pieces of scion wood from there apple stock, so we will be doing that once the rootstocks arrive. The varieties available are;

Apples:

Allington Pipin
Annie Elizabeth
Barnack Beauty
Belvoir Seedling
Bramley
Brownlees Russet (very excited about this one)
Cox Pomona
Dumerlows Seedling
George Cave
Golden Pipin
Newton Wonder
Queen Caroline

Pears:

Beurre hardy
Claps Favorite
Conference
Dorondeau

Plums:

Cambridge gage
Early rivers
Pershore Yellow
Pershore Purple

One response to “Grafting

  • Judy Burrage

    Hi Zarah, I met your parents in The Nelson Pub a week or so ago, and one of the things we chatted about was a project I am involved in which is planning to set up a Food Hub in Market Harborough. They felt it might be something you would be interested in, as a way of selling surplus produce later in the year. Do you have an e.mail address where I can send you some more details? Then perhaps if you are interested we could meet up for a chat

Leave a Reply

