Make do and mend

In our grand clear out, we unearthed Becky’s sewing machine which was a hand-me-down from her mum. Becky’s mum is a rather good seamstress, so it is a really top notch machine which is a joy to use. Anyway, in the spirit of thrift, greenness and self sufficiently, I decided to mend a couple of pairs of jeans that have developed holes. So I bought a pair of children’s jeans from a charity shop for £2, and created a couple of patches for the denim, and a hour later, my jeans are wearable again. That’s not a very interesting tale, but whilst I had the sewing machine out, I thought….what else can I make?

We had been looking at dog coats for a while, as the two that we are using regularly are about 5 years old and are no longer water proof….and whippets really don’t like getting wet. Dog coats are surprisingly expensive, especially when you start talking about coats designed especially for whippets long and skinny shape. So I found an old water proof coat of mine and a wool blanket and started to take the old coat apart to recycle the expensive bits such as velcrose.

20140116-093815.jpg

Then I laid out the old coat and used it as a template. I kept the furry bottom sheet, and placed a new piece of wool in between that and the new top of water proof material. using the sewing machine, I created a cross cross pattern on the material, which held it together and also looked good. I then used the old back trim to neaten up the edges. Finally I reattached the velcrose that I had rescued from the old garment.

Here is the finished version, modelled by Blue because Ori wouldn’t get up to try it on.

20140116-094124.jpg

Leave a Reply

