Summer bounty 2013

Today I actually did that thing that people always picture when you say you have a small holding, I walked out onto the plot with a trug, and came back with it full of fresh vegetables ready to cook. I didn’t do any weeding, mowing, sheep wrestling, chicken powdering or watering….I just walked straight to the vegetable plot, picked some fresh vegetables and came back in. It was a refreshing change! We are off work this week on a stay-cation, so I have done some cooking for the freezer.

Cottage pie with our wonderful potatoes and bolognese sauce using some of the courgette glut, onion harvest and chard leaves. I am really please with the result. The freezer is beginning to look very well stocked for winter and I definitely think my plan this year to cook all veg into ready meals rather than freeze them as veg is going to be a lot more appealing on cold winters nights after work/ study.

20130902-190804.jpg

20130902-190811.jpg

Leave a Reply

