Hay Rack

20121111-194626.jpg

Today was the first day we have had on the plot for ages due to lots of the stuff going on in our lives, such as new family babies and work commitments. Its getting to the time of year when we start feeding our sheep hay to supplement the grass. last year lots of the hay ended up on the ground and rotted. So I decided to make a hay rack out of two flat pallets that I have had laying around for a while. I took the bottom rung off so that I could mesh them into each other to create a criss cross type frame, and then lined the top half with stock netting to create a mesh that would hold the hay, but that my beauties can still eat through. To keep the hay dry we have put a table on top of it for now, but I’ll be looking for some boards on my next pallet run.

The Soays approve, as you can see.

Leave a Reply

