Zen and art of sheep maintenance

How can you keep your life balanced when you are at work so much of the time? It’s a question I am struggling with this week. Work has consumed my thoughts for all of the wrong reasons, lots of change, low moral and uncertainty. I do belive that being out doors with the animals is the best stress medicine, but some negative internal dialogues even they can’t make blow away. I am beginning to wonder if the 4 day a week pattern was such a good idea. I used to have a day in the middle of the week when I would get away from the office politics and spend time outside with the birds or inside with the spinning wheel, or even cooking. Now I work 4 days in a row, but this is what normal people do…and everyone else seems happy right….or do they? Maybe things will settle down, but at the moment I am just trying to clear my head and enjoy the plot.

One of the great things about small holding for stress management is the abundance of repetitive tasks which require focus. Rebecca Laughton writes about using task such as these as a medative activity in her book ‘Surving and Thriving on the Land’.

The importance of mindfulness

Far from being a mindless activity, manual work using hand tools employs the brain just as much as the body. Time and again I have been reminded of this fact in all areas of physical work…The sence of achievement and exhilaration that results from mindful operations of hand tools is a pleasure that must be experienced to be believed.”

So with that advice, I am off out to prune the hedge and put up some tree protectors.

Leave a Reply

