Oak smoking

Well, we have worked like little donkeys this weekend. The sheep are on a new area of pasture thanks to Becs and I have processed 6 ducks. Today I built a cold smoker.

It’s pretty simple. As you can see from the picture, the fire goes inbetween the breeze blocks and the dustbin goes on top. The hole in the bottom lets the smoke through. The meat is hung inside the bin and the smoke comes out a hole in the lid. I will take a better picture next time.

I think we left it going for about 4-5 hours.

I smoked 6 breast steaks. The key is having large enough embers to put the oak chips onto, or it just goes out. Having said that, I have tasted a little piece and it is wonderful!!

Leave a Reply

